The Dark is Rising – Susan Cooper

The Dark is Rising Sequence is one of the best children’s fantasy series in the English language. Few people nowadays are familiar with the mystical prose of Susan Cooper, but I recommend a visit to her finely crafted fantasy which is composed of five different books.

In many ways, Susan Cooper’s series is superior to many contemporary children’s novels and there is something truly timeless and yet vulnerable about her character Will Stanton, the last of the Old Ones.

The five books in the series are namely:

  • Over Sea, Under Stone
  • The Dark is Rising
  • Greenwitch
  • The Grey King
  • Silver on the Tree

Few children’s series have lasted the test of time, but this is one of them.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.